Is that a Barn I Smell?

ImageI am struggling a bit to figure EA out.  I am not sure what is going down the Avenue.  A couple of thoughts about the current state that I have noticed…

EA is not about stock market or leader boards.  Seems clear this is not the direction or future for EA.  The interest Indexes were removed with a concession they were fun, and an assertion they didn’t ‘fit.’.  The network leader boards are wrong.  EA’s portfolio management tools are so inadequate that every serious player relies on third party tools.  Surely this isn’t the future of EA.

 
EA is not about communities and authentic engagement. They already removed City and Interest Communities. They eliminated the mission targeting function with private communities. With the reduced functionality of groups and Dups public reprimand of folks using the group tools available, clearly this is not what EA is about.
 
EA is not about measuring SM performance. Changes to the algorithm have left folks fried.  The opacity of how/what/when/if EA measures leave us with more questions than answers.  Most of the data that I have comes from purpose built experimental accounts or tinkering with (e)GARDNER.  Everyone that I know has days when they are confused about the relationship between their own network scores/dividends and their own social media activity.  Clearly this is not really important to EA.
 
EA is not about missions.  You can’t target, can’t search, can’t find missions.  The feedback system is so painful to use and opaque,,,they provide no information to anyone, but call it feedback…it can’t be a serious effort. I am uncertain what you can ask for or enforce with missions today.  All I know for sure is that Dups wants the rewards for missions to be reduced. EA has done little or nothing to eliminate folks who disrupt the mission ecosystem. I am honestly not certain what a mission really is.   The messages from EA are so confusing they can’t be serious about missions.
 
Despite some of the new messaging about reputation, I can’t believe EA really cares much about this.  When a company’s reputation is flawed, when a company is so quick to call their most committed supporters cheaters, when a company’s only sign of reputation is a profile button that they give to folks they believe are cheating; EA can’t be serious about reputation.
 
Is it really just Dups’ experiment?  Every time that anyone has a question or a challenge, all I hear is that EA has a ton of data and everything is completely as it should be. The data always supports EA’s position, disputes the evidence that I can see, and is unavailable to me.  I am a country boy; so I am reminded of a scent I remember from when I had to clean the barn…
Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Is that a Barn I Smell?

  1. Lisa Lorraine Bowen says:

    Hey Harold,

    I really appreciated your post. I am familiar with this kind of apathy that EA is displaying in some other new innovative platforms that I have been involved with over the years. What it all boils down to is a concept that has gotten away from the developers. I think they (EA Developers) have lost touch with the purpose and intent of EA. They are busy working with the mechanism and the issues of staying afloat that they have not committed to standards or objectives. There will be no cohesion and no improvements until EA discovers itself.

    • That is a great observation Lisa, and you said it with much less of the frustration that I feel. I have spent a lot of time and energy here, and I see so much opportunity. It does just feel like they have lost their way a bit. One of the top 10 players just quit today, and I fear more are on the horizon.

      • Lisa Lorraine Bowen says:

        I have been playing about a year and many days I question why do I continue, but I am one who once committed to something it is hard for me to change directions when there is still some benefit. I too am frustrated that they (EA) struggle to manage what could be a very powerful opportunity. I have never grasped my EA presence I seem to always be at the mercy of some hidden ominous algorithm that negates my social efforts. I think EA needs an business intervention. They show their inability to lead the platform. They need someone with some Business acumen to come in and set them straight. Monetization should not be the priority or their mission. The meeting of user needs and user satisfaction is the appropriate OBJECTIVE; listen up Dups, without users there is no EA.

  2. Today, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad
    and tested to see if it can survive a 30 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.

    My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.
    I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it
    with someone!

  3. Jason Wagner says:

    All good questions, Harold, and I’m wondering myself…

Leave a Reply

