Adultery…not that kind!

Image

Christmas Joy

A little kid who  just started the first grade, was asked to memorize the Ten Commandments.  Upon reciting the commandment, “Thou shalt not commit adultery,” he was asked what does that mean?
With absolute seriousness he replied, “That means that you shouldn’t want to become an adult.”

I just got back from a community Christmas fair on the town square in my home town.  The last vehicle in the parade left the children breathless .  In a perfect metaphor for Angleton Texas, a mule drawn carriage delivering Santa Claus. Looking at the scene with my jaded, adult, citified eyes, I admit that I felt a bit envious of the excited kids running after the carriage.  OK not the one who stepped in the mule exhaust.  Even he will have a great story to tell in later years about stepping in Santa’s mules’ poo.

For us adults, Christmas becomes so stressful.  Spending too much on gifts with too little meaning.  Stressing over holiday plans and travel.  Worrying about how the extended family can survive our time together; while the kids just want to have fun…apologies to Cyndi Lauper.  Kids steadily seem to enjoy Christmas despite our adult efforts to make a complicated mess.

I wonder if this applies to more than just holiday stress.  I believe a more childlike approach to life would create some of that pure childish delight for each of us even today.

Robert Fulcrum says, All I ever needed to know, I learned in Kindergarten:

Play fair. Don’t hit people. Put things back where you found them. Clean up your own mess. Don’t take things that aren’t yours. Say you are sorry when you hurt somebody. Wash your hands before you eat. Flush.  Learn some and think some and draw some and paint and sing and dance and play and work everyday.  When you go out in the world, watch for traffic, hold hands, and stick together. Be aware of wonder.

 

30 thoughts on “Adultery…not that kind!

  1. Louis says:

    Hi Harold,
    *taking a deep breath* maybe if we can all think about this a holiday as it used to be, the Norse who celebrate Yul, the Jews who celebrate Hanukkah, the Christians welcoming baby Jesus – maybe just teaching our kids it’s not about parades, presents or being naughty or nice, it’s about teaching what we really believe in, true values in life, honoring our ancestors
    (and give a cr** about $$ spent in store just because it’s the seaon )
    written by Louis (atheist)

  2. Paula Henry says:

    I love that quote by Robert Fulchum! I’m not sure when Christmas became so commercialized and it does seem to get worse by the year. We actually spend most of our time and money on being together as a family (which includes airfare), playing games, cooking together and enjoying each moment.

  3. DES Daughter says:

    Children have the answer to so many questions I think… thanks Harold 🙂

  4. eavdailytips says:

    Nice tuff for this monday morning 🙂

  5. That is awesome, something my daughter would probably say! Check out my own blog http://www.xfatburn.com

  6. Awesome joke at the beginning, the logical thinking of children with such humor and purity. Have a Merry Christmas!

  7. painspeaks says:

    Love your perspective and I wish everyone else subscribed to it! The world would be a better place! Thanks Harold and Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  8. Tom Laing says:

    Love the opening Harold – Lost in Laughter after that

  9. opajdara says:

    Love the kid’s perspective, and agree with him – all kinds of adultery should be banned!

  10. George J Lloyd says:

    In German there is a saying: “A child’s mouth/tounge never lies.” I think it fits here. 🙂

  11. […] pleased at a number of his posts.   I particularly like the way he uses provocative key words,  like adultery,  in pieces that do not actually deal with the risque subject matter.  It reminded me rather fondly of my own […]

    • Thanks Alan. That post came together as a funny bit of serendipity for me. Having just gotten back from the local Christmas Fair, I was reflecting on that experience. At the same time, I was working on putting together some silliness for a class that I teach. The tasks really were not related. As I was collecting my stuff and thoughts, I was typing and copying into an open screen just to collect some fodder for organizing later. The ‘adultery’ silliness and my Christmas Fair reflections just happen to be close to each other on the screen. Lightening flashed and a few minutes later a post was born.

  12. jruthkelly says:

    LOVE the new definition for adultery… this is an especially appropriate post today given the wonderful truth in the Fulcrum quote.

  13. maryehaight says:

    “Be aware of wonder” – that’s the trait we tend to lose as we grow up, one I try to hang on to. I especially enjoyed your first and last paragraphs, what an excellent set of bookends! Gotta love it when lightening flashes.

  14. layanglicana says:

    Reblogged this on Ratiocinativa and commented:
    Wise words from a friend the other side of the pond…

  15. layanglicana says:

    I love this, Harold, and have taken the liberty of reblogging.

Leave a Reply

